Earth Day

Since yesterday was Earth Day, I thought it would a good time to revisit my thoughts on Earth Hour (episode #11) in relation to Earth Day. Well, not surprisingly my thoughts on Earth Day are the same as Earth Hour, only 24 times over. I find it a hypocritical PR-bandage which acts as a guilt-vent allowing people to continue to lead a destructive lifestyle while feeling they’re making a difference.

Conversely, I also see it as an important awareness tool, getting people to think about eco-issues when they may not normally do so. It’s a tricky issue.

According to a recent poll, apparently Canadians would rather save money than the environment. This doesn’t surprise me. Convenience is king. On Friday my office is taking part in the Twenty-Minute Clean Up. That is, for 20-minutes were going out with plastic bags and putting discarded plastic and cardboard we find in the nearby ravine into them. This a great beautifying task. The ravine will look so much better. So much so, perhaps people will continue to not think about how all their food products are encased in plastic or cardboard packaging. Out of sight, out of mind. Sometimes I think we should get our green spaces get filled up with trash. As a demonstration that the issue of trash needs to be cured at the systemic level (the banning of food packaging). Not with a 20-minute band-aid.

~ Jakob

2 Responses to Earth Day

  1. Tony Pucci says:

    Yeah, I’ve been thinking along these lines lately, but on a personal level. I could stand to lose a few pounds, add a few dollars to my savings, get some things done around the house, and so on. A “band-aid” might get my wife off my back temporarily (re: house projects), or a certain shirt might make me feel better about my physical being, but they are just transparent bridges to get me through another day. What needs to happen, what I need to embrace and impliment, is a total lifestyle change. One less item on my plate, one less toy I don’t really need, one more hour spent, not on selfish endeavors, but for the overall maintainence of my life. I hope to start Monday.

  2. Tony Pucci says:

    Wow, how’d I get such a freaked out looking yellow stress face next to my reply?!?! Damn computer read my mind!

Leave a Reply

