Episode #51 – Tech Gadgets

Last week Apple introduced the world to the iPad. The world nodded politely and carried on talking to more interesting people at the party. Mandi and I sat in a corner and talked about the iPad behind its back.

If we’d listened to this episode of Or Do You Think That’s Just Bollocks beforehand, we’d have known about a few of the features we claimed the iPad doesn’t have. Such as, though it doesn’t have any USB ports, you can apparently buy a USB adaptor for the docking port. Which still sounds kind of bullshit to me.

But then, I don’t own a cell phone or any Bluetooth devices so what do I know about tech gadgets? Absolutely nothing. Mandi seems to be a  bit more savvy, but mostly I think she just wants an iPhone app that tracks me and my vital signs via the GPS/diagnostic chip she tagged me with in my sleep.

Anyway, we thought the iPad looked stupid. So did Hitler.

This week we develop a greater respect for the acting ability of Tricia Helfer (Caprica Six), though not enough to Google her name until just now, and Dualla (not Diwali)’s breasts.

We also talk about how the writing of season 2.5 was clearly hijacked by children who’d never seen an episode of Battlestar Galactica in their lives. In the podcast, I go so far as to make the bold claim that even Season 2 of TNG didn’t have episodes as bad as “Sacrifice” or, as Mandi re-titles it, “Billy, Don’t Be a Hero“. Spoiler: Billy be’s a hero.

Of course, the day after recording this episode, we watched “Shades of Gray” and I realized there’s never been TV as bad as Season 2 of TNG. A whole fracking episode of Riker flashbacks. And they’re not even interesting Riker flashbacks (though any pairing of the words “interesting” and “Riker” is an oxymoron). Out of the entire history of hastily slapped together flashback episodes, it might be the single worst thing I’ve ever seen. I came down with a cold shortly after watching this episode and I blame it. What a way to close out a season.

At least season 2.5 of BSG ends on a high note.

2 Responses to Episode #51 – Tech Gadgets

  1. Willy says:

    This is an amazing post!

Leave a Reply

