Episode 77 – Craft Beers and Crap Beers

Third time’s a charm for this episode. After two disastrous attempts to record this podcast (one too drunk, one too hung over), we finally got this episode in the can.

Beer is a hurdle for almost everyone. People tend to have very set opinions on what is a drinkable brew. Some won’t drink anything other than mass-market (Bud, Labatts, Coors, Molson) swill, others will only imbibe the richer flavours of a micro brewery’s craft ale.

Here at the hurdle hut, we’re decidedly in the latter camp. Though there are a few beer Jedi’s who can balance the light and the dark without batting an eye, people are generally set in their ways.

Personally, I like the dark ales and stouts (once you go black, you never go back). Though, almost a full week after the Toronto Festival of Beer, I still feel a little like I will never again touch another drop . Or, perhaps, until tonight.

Dark ales weren’t the order of the day at Great Lake’s Brewing’s Caskapalooza area of the festival where wheat beers, fruity brews and ales so hoppy a rabbit would be scared reigned. These interesting small batch brews were the essence of what beer fest is all about; tipping back a half-pint of something you’d never tried before.

Left: Jakob annoys Tara while wearing the “shit compress” Labatt’s Fiddy shirt he found on a tree and wrapped around his head. Also, a flower in his beard and the inability to focus his eyes properly.

Referenced video: Double Complete Rainbow

4 Responses to Episode 77 – Craft Beers and Crap Beers

  1. Chris says:

    Jacob, like you, I had problems mislaying my glasses in various places. And like you, my significant other/wife threatened me with various types of chains, strings and the like, to keep them closer to me. Fortunately, I discovered these just in time:

    http://eyewearclics.ca/

    I love ’em! They are affordable, even with my prescription (and it’s covered under my work’s glasses coverage) and never leave my neck, as long as I remember to put them on in the morning. They don’t hang down too low and get in the way when I don’t need them on, plus they are very, very, cool! Have a look at the different actors who are wearing them, and you’ll see what I mean.

    Look at it this way, if you get a pair of these, you’ll never lose them bending over to tenderly minister to Mandy’s expellatory needs after Beerfest!

    Love the show, guys!

    • nerdhurdles says:

      But then I wouldn’t have my glasses anymore. The whole point being to not lose my glasses. I’ve had them for over 20 years. I think a simple piece of twine might suffice.

  2. Chris says:

    Jakob, Mandi,

    Oops, guys, I apologize. I totally mis-spelled your names. That was very rude of me, and I will go now and sit in the corner and think about what I have done.

    Really, though, sorry.

Leave a Reply

