Episode 186: ARCHER / Saturday Morning Cartoons

186-BLOG

 

Wait, wait… I had something for this….

It’s more of a Saturday night bartoon based on the amount of drinking and sexing that goes on in the pun-heavy, definitely not-for-kids, spy parody, Archer

Also the rapid-fire puns are better on the show, something we neglected to mention on the episode. You can find some at Sterlingsays.it. And in this Super Cut…

 

 

 

4 Responses to Episode 186: ARCHER / Saturday Morning Cartoons

  1. linddykal says:

    Funny again, as always. I never thought about it before but you’re right, Arrested Development and Archer are just character based jokes. I still love them both though. Btw I have a show request, the HBO show Girls. I’m not sure how nerdy that show is though…also People that watch BBC TV that aren’t in England. I know you had an activism show but I’d love to hear one just about feminism/feminists. Thanks for the shows, I love them.

    • nerdhurdles says:

      Well, March 8th is the UN International Day of Women’s Rights so maybe we can get Kathie over to do feminism… which I was sure we had done, but “search” says no. Huh.

      Not having HBO, we probably won’t ever watch Girls (unless if hits Canadian Netflix or someone lends us a season on DVD).

      Anyway, we still like Archer. It hasn’t jumped the proverbial shark yet, but it does seem to be headed into “Seinfeld Syndrome” territory. Where to keep the character-based jokes funny they keep having to amp up the characters’ traits until they become ridiculous parodies of themselves. Like how Jerry, Elaine and George were quirky, slightly flawed people in the first season but by the end were more like psychotic aliens wearing human costumes. I felt like that’s what happened with Arrested Development by season 2 even. And I think, being a cartoon, Archer will be able to get away with that more.

      • linddykal says:

        That happened to It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia too, but really quickly, like in season 2.

        Thanks, for maybe doing a feminist show, I want to hear what you guys have to say. Speaking of…

        My favorite “feminist” show is ‘Call the Midwife’ on BBC. It’s midwives taking care of the poor east end of London in the 1950’s before birth control. I love it, I’ve been a little obsessed with that show lately. I forgot to request it before.

      • nerdhurdles says:

        Well, we have as yet not recorded it. Or any other episode. So it might still happen.

        I noticed Call The Midwife on Netflix and was wondering what that was all about.

Leave a Reply

