Episode 193: Not All Nerds?

193

This week, with Kathie’s help, we answer a listener letter. Darryll writes:

“I’d like to make a suggestion for Nerd Hurdles. Lately, the topic of nerd misogyny and nerd rage toward women has been very present in social media. It comes as a surprise to me because the nerds I’ve known have inherently striven to be true gentlemen. I think their is a misconception where the nerds are actually being confused with the creeps of this world. Perhaps I’m wrong, though. I don’t know. I’d be very interested to hear yours and Mandi’s take on the subject. I think you guys would provide an insightful view without the bullshit confusion I’ve read in many articles and commentaries.”

Articles and blogs referenced in the episode:

To the Princeton Privileged Kid 

http://groupthink.jezebel.com/to-the-princeton-privileged-kid-1570383740

Your Princess Is in Another Castle: Misogyny, Entitlement, and Nerds

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2014/05/27/your-princess-is-in-another-castle-misogyny-entitlement-and-nerds.html

The amazingly cute and awesome Scarborough community cable show from 1993 Ten Forward (so obliquely referenced by Kathie you may have missed it).

 

 

 

4 Responses to Episode 193: Not All Nerds?

  1. linddykal says:

    This one wasn’t really funny but it’s one of my favorite episodes of Nerd Hurdles.

  2. Miranda says:

    Love this. Love it so hard!

Leave a Reply

